What a RADICAL walk with CHRIST will GET you…

I’ve been pondering my life’s journey lately and been overwhelmed by the sovereignty and faithfulness of God in spite of myself. While I didn’t even know Him (or care to know Him), He was still strategically orchestrating things on my behalf…all designed to bring me to a place of knowing and desiring Him. WOW! 🙂

Once that happened in my life, it happened in a BIG way. I didn’t just decide to start going to church so I’d have somewhere to “belong” on Sundays… I didn’t just decide I should go to church or be a Christian because it was the right thing to do… I didn’t just decide to alter my behavior to line up with what the Bible says pleases God. No… I was RADICALLY CHANGED ON THE INSIDE, which continues to MANIFEST DAILY ON THE OUTSIDE. (you can read my full testimony here:  http://www.maryloveslife.org/about.html )

In 2006, God told me to start blogging my journey. The RADICAL journey He began to take me on back in January 1999 was now going to be recorded for others to witness. This can be a good thing and a bad thing. The good thing is that others can learn from what I go though. The bad thing is that there is a price for transparency.

In recent days I have been thinking about what it means to be SOLD OUT for CHRIST. What does it mean to be RADICAL? I have often quoted the definition of RADICAL in my blog posts (departing markedly from the usual or customary; extreme) and today I want to list SEVEN THINGS a RADICAL LIFE FOR CHRIST will get you. Of course it requires us to SURRENDER many things, but here are some things you will GET.

(I’m sure there are more, but here are seven I could think of off the top of my head – in no particular order. This blog post has not come from any particular experience, but many. It’s something I’ve found myself pondering often over the years and thought I’d share.)

A RADICAL LIFE FOR CHRIST will get you…

  1. CRITICIZED. You will be labeled as being “overboard,” “extreme,” “weird,” or “too religious.”
  2. LONELY. Let’s face it, not all Christians are ready for RADICAL. You may even stand out among “church-folk” as being extreme…lol. Others should be excited for you and wish they were as radical, but sadly, some get convicted and criticize you. Don’t worry… God will be faithful to bring you other RADICAL friends so you don’t feel so alone, but in most larger church gatherings, you’ll be a loner.
  3. A RADICAL SPOUSE. [FOR THE SINGLE FOLKS] It may take patience to wait for them, but RADICAL attracts RADICAL and is attracted to RADICAL. You can’t match up a SOLD-OUT believer with a LUKEWARM believer or you’ll be miserable. (So FYI…you won’t likely find your RADICAL spouse in a WORLDLY place. ~ CAUTION: RADICAL often attracts non-radical too because they secretly admire your “radicalness” and secretly desire it for themselves. They can roll with you for a while, but in the end, they may not be willing to lay it all down. Make sure you test the fruit! YOU WILL KNOW THEM BY THEIR LONG-TERM FRUIT!)
  4. OFF THE INVITE LIST. There are plenty of events that friends, family & church-folk won’t invite you to because they know you “won’t go there” or your presence will make them uncomfortable while they have their fun…lol. It’s just as well. It saves you from having to decline the invite. Not being included can be considered an honor in many cases. 🙂
  5. PHONE CALLS DURING LUNCH BREAKS OR AT MIDNIGHT. Okay, so they think you’re “extreme” or “overboard” but that’s only when things are going good for them. Let them have a crisis or tragedy and you’re the first one they call for prayer and counsel. They know the real deal when they see it and truth be told they’re glad you’re there ‘just in case’. (Oh, and they secretly hope you’re praying for them too. Make sure you are!)
  6. PEACE THAT SURPASSES ALL UNDERSTANDING! There is nothing like RADICAL OBEDIENCE to Jesus Christ. When the whole crowd goes left and God says go right, you may feel left out for a brief minute, but the PEACE that floods your soul is priceless!
  7. JOY UNSPEAKABLE! As you embark on an unusual, extreme journey that departs markedly from the customary, you will come to know and hear the Lord in an incredible way. Your relationship with Him will BLOSSOM and BLOOM and become more intimate than you could ever know. 🙂

ARE YOU READY TO BE RADICAL FOR CHRIST?

Luke 14:33 – In the same way, any of you who does not give up everything he has cannot be my disciple.

2 Cor 6:17 – Therefore come out from them and be separate, says the Lord.

Matt 16:24-26 – If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it. What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul?

John 17:14-15 – I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world.  My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one.

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org http://www.thehubatlanta.org http://www.atlantaoutreach.org

One Response to What a RADICAL walk with CHRIST will GET you…

  1. Mbaire says:

    Still reading it :- D Absolutely loving it! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

