Terry K. – A Testimony of God’s Love

I’m still weeping over watching God move in the life of a client on Friday… 52yr old Terry, who looks 72, has been homeless for 20+yrs. He has major health issues including diabetes. In the four weeks he’d been with us, the ambulance was called three times, the last of which he ended up hospitalized and could have been fatal. He’s been rejected from numerous housing opportunities over the yrs & we too had to put him back in the care of hospital social workers to find him appropriate care. On Thursday I prayed with Terry and told him he would be leaving us on Friday and that God said to tell him He had something big for him.

On Friday I packed him and all his belongings [everything he owns, packed in numerous garbage bags] into my car to take him back to the social worker but it turned out they dropped the ball and had no place for poor Terry. We unloaded his stuff at one place only to be rejected and told he could not stay. So we reloaded my car and I was supposed to drop him at the social workers office where they said “We have no idea what we’ll do with him. We have no options for him. Just drop him off and we’ll have to figure something out.” I couldn’t just drop Terry on Friday afternoon, unsure if they would let him fall though the cracks again. [they were supposed to have found him a personal care home while he was hospitalized and technically he wasn’t supposed to have come back to our housing in the first place.] I couldn’t bear the thought of him facing the street yet again. INFURIATED, I refused to participate in treating him this way. I called my boss in tears and though Terry is a medical risk and our housing is not appropriate for him b/c we have no staff to monitor him, my boss agreed to let him stay the weekend. I would take him personally to this social worker on Monday morning while they found a place for Terry.

Once I stopped crying, I called the social worker to let her know I wasn’t bringing him, when she said she found a personal care home that would take him immediately! (THIS DOESN’T HAPPEN EVERY DAY! Usually there are applications and red tape… a real process to get in one of these places) Turns out it is a Christian personal care home for disabled men. He was supposed to have income to stay there, but the woman took him in! I said to Terry “TERRY! Look what God has done!” and he said “Yeah, and we prayed yesterday too, remember?” I HAD FORGOTTEN! LOL! I told Terry… GOD has moved mountains on YOUR behalf because of his great love for you. No matter how many people have ever rejected you or left you … GOD NEVER WILL! The look on Terry’s face in my rear view mirror was priceless. He had the look of “WOW, God really did do this… for ME.” TERRY SAW GOD THAT DAY!!!!!!!!!!!! Then I explained to Terry that we were never trying to “get rid” of him from our housing, that all along the reason he had to leave was to go somewhere that could serve him better, it’s just that they failed to find him a place. Now this new place will have medical staff, cook his meals and not put him on MARTA to take care of all his own business, but actually take him to his appointments. Terry said “WOW! Someone will really care for me. This is good because I tend to get confused a lot and seem to always end up in a bad way.” TERRY FELT VALUED for the first time in a long time… if ever in his life. Wow. You could see it on his face.

After getting Terry settled he said “You’re going to come visit me, right?” I said “ABSOLUTELY!” Then we joined hands to pray before I left. As we stood face to face praying with our heads bowed, Terry leaned forward and pushed the top of his head/forehead against mine and began to shake. After we prayed he said “I felt something going up both of my arms when you prayed!” I told him “That was the presence of God, Terry! HE LOVES YOU AND IS RIGHT HERE WITH YOU! HE WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU NOR FORSAKE YOU! I inquired if he had ever asked Jesus to be his Lord and Savior, and he said OH YES. But TODAY, Terry experienced God’s love for him like never before.

Within 30 minutes of dropping Terry, I got a call that Terry had been approved for his SSI back on MARCH 1 but they could not locate him! SO NOW TERRY HAS INCOME AND WILL BE ABLE TO STAY AT THIS HOME INDEFINITELY!

GOD YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!!!!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org

6 Responses to Terry K. – A Testimony of God’s Love

  1. gmom says:

    I’m crying reading this.
    Recently someone said to me just tell God you need a hand and He will answer. It was seeming God had no interest in my pathetic little life and I was feeling very alone and scared. My son is an addict. God answered. My son finally agreed to go in to rehab. I know it may not be the answer, but I know God heard.
    Thank you for posting this story.
    Terry’s story makes ME feel less alone.

  2. I am moved by this story. You showed God’s love to this man in a very practical self-sacrificing way and God moved on His behalf. Truly Amazing how much He cares for each of us. Thank you for sharing this experience.

  3. Mary, my brother David is blessed you have you as a vital part of Atlanta Outreach. You are a blessing to him, to Terry, and to the homeless population of Atlanta. Thank you for sharing this and thank you for all you do to make the world a better place! May God richly bless you and protect you as you do the work He has called you to.

  4. This made me cry big time, thank you for sharing what GOD is doing MAry…This is what it is ALL about…

  5. What a beautiful present-day illustration of God’s love working both through you and through circumstances. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  6. Jae says:

    Honey, this touched me. I am going to link it to my blog (being grateful and believing GOD) and I have posted it on my facebook. WOW. That is the kind of faith I like to see. God’s power moving, because His empty vessels let Him pour THROUGH them. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

