CAUTION: Total Surrender to Christ May Cause Controversy

Ok… I haven’t blogged all month because I’ve been SWAMPED. But in addition to all my activities and responsibilities, GOD has been rocking my world. Life as I knew it has drastically changed internally for me in recent months, and [soon enough] it will change outwardly too. I do not feel released to share publicly what God has been speaking to me, but I do feel led to share the affect it is having on me.

Twelve years ago I read EXPERIENCING GOD by Henry Blackaby and it changed my life. It taught me how to hear God speak. Here is a quote to summarize the book:

“The general teaching of Experiencing God is wrapped around what Blackaby calls the “Seven Realities of Experiencing God”:

(1) God is always at work around you;

(2) God pursues a continuing love relationship with you that is real and personal;

(3) God invites you to become involved with Him in His work;

(4) God speaks by the Holy Spirit through the Bible, prayer, circumstances, and the church to reveal Himself, His purposes, and His ways;

(5) God’s invitation for you to work with Him always leads you to a “crisis of belief” that requires faith and action;

(6) You must make major adjustments in your life to join God in what He is doing;

(7) You come to know God by experience as you obey Him and He accomplishes His work through you.”

These seven truths have been prevalent in my life DAILY ever since, in a continual cycle that will never cease to end.

But lately truths FIVE and SIX are challenging me at levels like never before. Again, they are:

(5) God’s invitation for you to work with Him always leads you to a “crisis of belief” that requires faith and action;

(6) You must make major adjustments in your life to join God in what He is doing;

He has been showing me some things and speaking some things that are bringing me to EXTREMELY RADICAL crisis’ of belief which will one day require EXTREMELY RADICAL faith and action and EXTREMELY RADICAL adjustments in my life… WOW. Help me Jesus.

My pastor, Maurice Stargell, has been preaching a series at www.Hope-Church.tv that God has been using to rock me to my core. It is called SUN STAND STILL – AUDACIOUS FAITH: BELIEVING GOD FOR THE IMPOSSIBLE. It has broken up some fallow, inactive, unseeded ground in my heart that has now been made fertile to bloom. While I have considered my walk with God to be radical [departing markedly from the usual or customary; extreme.), lately I feel like I’m about to go to a WHOLE NUTHA LEVEL.

The word I keep hearing is: CONTROVERSIAL. God has been asking me if I’m willing to be RADICAL enough to be CONTROVERSIAL. My first response is, YES LORD! HERE I AM! But then I looked up controversial: dispute, argument, or debate, especially one concerning a matter about which there is strong disagreement and especially one carried on in public or in the press. WELL NOW! Ugh. God is specifically asking me about this at this time, but I don’t hesitate to suggest that God may be asking this of His CHURCH:Are you willing to be CONTROVERSIAL for the sake of My gospel? Are you willing to risk it all [including your reputation] for Me?

As God had been challenging me with this the last few months, I went on vacation to a friend’s house in Florida in early June. While there, she gave me a book that she said reminded her of me. It is called: RADICAL by David Platt. Wow. This book is right on-time considering what God has been speaking. I highly recommend the book, but beware: you cannot read it and then operate the same way. It will rock you to the core. It has no doubt caused some CONTROVERSY in the Christian world…and I’m so glad it has! We [the church] need to be shaken up!

I don’t know all the details of what my future holds, but I know it’s going to cause some shakin’ up of the status quo… it’s going to ruffle some feathers and will probably put me on a few people’s “lists.” But it’s not about me. As God has brought me to some CRISIS’ OF BELIEF that will require FAITH AND ACTION and require me to make MAJOR ADJUSTMENTS TO MY LIFE and my comfort level, I say YES LORD. I have spent many hours prostrate in recent weeks dying to self in order to say YES this time. I had reached a place where my own ability to surrender and obey were insufficient. It was only by the power of the Holy Spirit breaking up that fallow, unseeded ground and infusing it with His strength and ability that I could comply.

My pastor recently said, “If the vision you have for your life is something you think you can accomplish with your own ability, it’s probably not from God.” Well Amen to that. What God is saying to me through this is, “If you think you’re READY and CAN DO what I’m showing you, then you’re NOT READY.” If I thought I was ready, then “I” would do it rather than letting God do it through me. As it is, He’ll have to do it… because apart from Him I don’t have the courage and I certainly don’t have a clue. All I can do is say YES.

Jesus was controversial.

The disciples were controversial.

So why, oh why, should we think we should be comfortable and cozy?? ♥

Hosea 10:12 Sow for yourselves righteousness; Reap in mercy; Break up your fallow ground, For it is time to seek the LORD, Till He comes and rains righteousness on you.

Hebrews 12:25-29 See to it that you do not refuse him who speaks. If they did not escape when they refused him who warned them on earth, how much less will we, if we turn away from him who warns us from heaven? At that time his voice shook the earth, but now he has promised, “Once more I will shake not only the earth but also the heavens.” The words “once more” indicate the removing of what can be shaken-that is, created things-so that what cannot be shaken may remain. Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.”  

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org http://www.thehubatlanta.org http://www.atlantaoutreach.org

3 Responses to CAUTION: Total Surrender to Christ May Cause Controversy

  1. brianlouw says:

    I often refer to Experiencing God as well – you’re right that it is indeed a life-changing book. As John Ortberg says, “If you want to walk on water you have to get out of the boat” (that’s the title of his book!)

    I agree that total surrender to Christ may cause controversy but I firmly believe that it also leads to the abundant, extreme life (John 10:10) that Jesus promised. It is also the culmination of truly inviting him in to our lives (Rev 3:20).

    May God bless you richly and Christ be ever present to you as you step out of the boat…

  2. THANK YOU MARY FOR WRITING SUCH A DEEP TRUTH…MUCH NEEDED

  3. Pingback: Better Get Ready… PREPARE: Adjust and Align « Live~Learn~Teach~Repeat…

Leave a Reply

