I Yield, oh Lord.

TO YIELD:
to give up possession of on claim or demand: as to give up (as one’s breath) and so die:
to surrender or relinquish to the physical control of another:
to hand over possession of:
to surrender or submit (oneself) to another:
to give (oneself) up to an inclination, temptation, or habit:
to relinquish one’s possession of (as a position of advantage or point of superiority):
to give up and cease resistance or contention:
to give way under physical force (as bending, stretching, or breaking):
to give place or precedence:
to acknowledge the superiority of someone else:
to be inferior:
to give way to or become succeeded by someone or something else:
to bear or bring forth as a natural product especially as a result of:
to produce or furnish as return ..:
to be fruitful or productive:

I YIELD myself to you, Oh Lord my God. I completely surrender myself, my ideas, my plans, my desires and my will to yours. I desire to walk in your ways Oh God and not that of my own. Lead me Oh Lord down ancient paths, that I may know you as Abraham, Isaac and Jacob knew you. May I know you Lord and feel your tangible presence as the disciples did in the upper room. I know Lord that to know you this way requires less and less and less of me, so I YIELD to you Lord!

I know it won’t be easy. I know it won’t always seem fair. I know I won’t always agree. Yet…I YIELD every fiber of my being to YOUR plan. May I hear your voice at every turn and may I have the boldness to obey your every command.

May any command you give that is illogical by human reasoning be boldy obeyed without hesitation. May fear, anxiety, worry, doubt and unbelief be bound up from me and may FAITH overwhelm my being and propel me instantly into bold, radical obedience. May the criticism of man not move me. MAY NOTHING MOVE ME BUT YOU LORD! I YIELD to you Lord! I YIELD! CONSUME ME! IGNITE ME WITH YOUR HOLY FIRE! BURN AWAY THE CHAFF! GIVE ME DOVES EYES MY LORD MY KING!

Lay me on the altar as a burning sacrifice… MAY SAVED SOULS AND SOLD-OUT, COMMITTED CHRISTIANS STAND IN THE WAKE OF THE SMOKE OF MY BURNING FLESH… A RESULT OF THE DEEP, INWARD WORK THAT DRAWS ME CLOSER TO YOU.

I bow humbly before you now, my God, my King.

Have YOUR way.

(originally posted by me on May 13, 2009. ~  always worth revisting 🙂 )

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org http://www.thehubatlanta.org http://www.atlantaoutreach.org

Leave a Reply

