“And God REMEMBERED Mary…the unfolding of destiny.”

God is AMAZING!

As I’m winding up the first month on my new job, I am reflecting on how strategic and intentional God is in everything He does. It is clear to me that God didn’t bring me A JOB, but He brought me THE JOB.  And while it felt like a “delay” to me, even His timing was “right on time.”

In the last few weeks God reminded of some things He previous showed me, and had me revisit them. How often do we sit in church and when we hear what the sermon is about we say, “Oh, I’ve already hear this preached before” and we sort of “tune out” because we think we know what they’re going to say. But God has a way of bringing NEW AND FRESH REVELATION to His Word all the time. So we must always be open to the new things God may want us to hear.

In my last blog post about my new job, I mentioned that God told me to look up “seventh month and seventeenth day” which was in Genesis 8. And of course it was the weekend of 7/17 that this job opportunity crossed my path (it found me!) and by Monday morning 7/19, I had the job interview scheduled.

So God had me revisit this recently…

 Gen 8:1-4

8:1 But God remembered Noah and all the wild animals and the livestock that were with him in the ark, and he sent a wind over the earth, and the waters receded. 2 Now the springs of the deep and the floodgates of the heavens had been closed, and the rain had stopped falling from the sky. 3 The water receded steadily from the earth. At the end of the hundred and fifty days the water had gone down, 4 and on the seventeenth day of the seventh month the ark came to rest on the mountains of Ararat.

So I asked the Lord what new thing He wanted me to see. There are a few encouraging nuggets I want to share:

  1. But God REMEMBERED Noah”… the word “remembered” in verse 1 jumped out immediately. In one of my textbooks last semester, the author pointed out that when God “remembers,” it is not a mere mental act. It is actually the “enactment and embodiment of God’s faithfulness to His word.” WOOT! As this season began to unfold in my life, God was REMEMBERING His promises to me and faithfully bringing them to pass! GOD REMEMBERED MARY!  
  2. In May I posted a word that God gave me here:  https://maryloveslife.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/dont-fear-the-new-thing/  And now as I read in verse 1 about the WIND that God sent over the earth to cause the waters to recede, I see that this is what I was discerning as I wrote that post. This “wind” was evidence that God was indeed “remembering” me and enacting His faithfulness in my life. This blog post sums up my feelings that I was about to get “forced upright” and that I would feel like a kid in mom’s high heels. Like a children’s top that wobbles for a moment but is then suddenly thrust upright, my life would began to pick up momentum and reach speeds never before attained.  
  3. In re-reading these verses, I noticed in verse 3 it says “at the end of 150 days the water had gone down, and THEN on the seventeenth day of the seventh month the ark came to rest.” So I counted back 150 days from the start of my new job in August and that was March. It was in March that God told me there was about to be a “reversal of misfortune!” I began to realize that when God told me that, His mighty wind already began to blow! It was blowing for 150 days (and I sensed it in May and blogged about it) until my ark finally came to rest! WOW! This is very important because many times we feel like nothing is happening in our lives and that God has forgotten about us, but in reality He is at work behind the scenes and bringing everything together and into order for His perfect will to manifest!  In fact during this 150 days my unemployment dried up (it was delayed) and things looked worse than ever! Before the breakthrough you will often times experience the worst season of all. (near the end of the 150 days I got a lump sum back pay distribution from the Department of Labor for all unemployment they didn’t pay since the end of April!)
  4. So speaking of ORDER, you may recall in past posts that God often speaks to me through sequential numbers. I often see 1234, 123, 234, 345, 456, 543, 432, 321, etc. I may come home to find the power had gone out and I’ll walk in my bedroom at 5pm and my alarm clock will say 12:34 Or just as I’m praying while driving and asking God what to do in a certain situation, I’ll pull up behind a car with sequential numbers in the license plate. I’ll glance at my CD player in my car while I’m pondering something and it will be on Track 2 3:45. I’ll wake up in the middle of the night and glance at the clock and its 2:34, 3:45 or 4:56, etc. Well, while this has been happening to me for years, it comes and goes in its frequency. And since taking this job on August 1st, it is happening NUMEROUS times per day! In fact, this is the most recent episode… while driving my 1999 Toyota Corolla to go meet someone that has an interest in helping fund and promote non-profit agencies, I glanced down and quickly took this picture (risky I know, but there were no cars around me…lol): 

After taking it I went to call my friend and tell her what just happened, and as I made the call it was 12:34! LOL. God is so funny. He is so faithful to always remind me that He is in control.  Every time I see the sequential numbers it’s as if He is saying, “Mary, I’m putting everything in order. Just relax.”

So I ended my last post with “…. To Be Continued” and I’ll have to end this one the same way. God has already revealed and confirmed some additional things about my new job, this agency and what is to come, but it is not yet time to post it publicly. God is putting everything in order and I stand in anticipation of what else I see in Genesis 8. For it continues to say….

Gen 8:5, 13-14

5 The waters continued to recede until the tenth month, and on the first day of the tenth month the tops of the mountains became visible.

13 By the first day of the first month of Noah’s six hundred and first year, the water had dried up from the earth. Noah then removed the covering from the ark and saw that the surface of the ground was dry. 14 By the twenty-seventh day of the second month the earth was completely dry.

I do not fully understand the prophetic implications of these verses, but I have some idea. Meanwhile I will walk in daily obedience to His voice and let Him continue to “remember” me.

Finally, just as I was posting this on this site, God told me to look up what ARARAT represents (since this is where the ark came to rest.) This is our reminder that “crossing over” into destiny and the fulfilling of God’s promises in our lives brings new levels of responsibility and surrender. While it is an exciting, joyous time, we will also be stretched to new levels and be called to endure even more treacherous terrain for the sake of His glory.

ARARAT: Sanskrit: holy ground. A mountainous, volcanic region in Armenia; this elevated plateau of Armenia is eminently suited to have been the center from which the human race spread in all directions. Notwithstanding its high elevation the region is fertile, furnishing abundant pasture, and producing good crops of wheat and barley, while the vine is indigenous. Some people believe that Noah’s ark still rests on Mount Ararat, and occasional expeditions have been launched to find it. However, shifting glaciers, avalanches, hidden crevices, and sudden storms make the mountain so difficult to climb that it is referred to by the native inhabitants of that region as “the Painful Mountain.” (from International Standard Bible Encyclopaedia, Electronic Database Copyright (c)1996 by Biblesoft and from Nelson’s Illustrated Bible Dictionary, Copyright (c)1986, Thomas Nelson Publishers)

Hab 3:19 – The Lord GOD is my strength, and He has made my feet like hinds’ feet, and makes me walk on my high places.

To be continued…. (don’t forget, you can subscribe to this blog in the right sidebar so you’ll get automatic updates when they come!)

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org

One Response to “And God REMEMBERED Mary…the unfolding of destiny.”

  1. This is a superb post and may be one to be followed up to see what are the results

    A partner e mailed this link the other day and I will be eagerly waiting your next write. Keep on on the fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

