Don’t give up! There’s Purpose in this Season You’re In…

As many have heard…. I GOT A JOB! After 18 months of unemployment, the Lord has opened an amazing door. I want to share this testimony for those who may be in a season of WAITING…. Where it seems hopeless and like perhaps God has forgotten about you. The following sums up how I endured this 18 month journey and how God encouraged me along the way.

A quick synopsis: In early 2009 I began collecting unemployment. I had to use student loan money to supplement this to have enough to pay my bills. I continually put resumes and applications out for jobs that I was more than qualified for, but never once was even called for an interview. IT WAS VERY DISCOURAGING! So every time a new semester started I would tell God, “If I don’t have a job by such and such a day, I am going to take a full load at school (4 or 5 classes.)” With no job coming forth, I was a full time student and completed 21 courses in 18 months! That’s 63 credit hours… almost ½ of my degree! WOW. Additionally, every time I would apply for jobs, I felt like God would remind me of something He spoke in 2004 when I moved to Atlanta. I recalled that as I was driving into Georgia the Lord said I would never have to look for a job again. That every time a season ended, he would open a new one. They may not always look the way I’d imagine them to, but my life would be a series of assignments. I would not look for them, but He would bring them to me in His perfect timing.

As I journeyed through these 18 months, God reminded me of some things and revealed some new things to me:

Do not fear, do not be afraid. Every time you fear and doubt do the three R’s: RECOGNIZE IT, REPENT and REPLACE IT WITH TRUTH (find scriptures against those things and speak them out.)

It was time for God to take me to a whole new level of dependence on Him. He wanted me to walk blindly, without seeing the provision in advance. It’s easy to trust when we get a windfall supply that will last a year, or a paycheck that is guaranteed bi-weekly, but it was time for manna daily for a season.

What I was going through was a “divers temptation” as mentioned in James 1: “poikilos peirasmos” An adverse test, experience or proving that pierces through, across, and beyond, and is composed of diverse and often incongruous elements marked by variety that scrutinizes and disciplines. This is what James is referring to when he says “Consider it pure joy when you go through “various trials” or “divers temptations,” or “trials of many kinds.”

James goes on to say: James 1:5-8 If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does. Many misinterpret this to mean that God withholds from those who doubt. THIS IS AN INCORRECT TRANSLATION. What James is saying is that when we doubt WE CAN’T RECEIVE. God is still giving, we just can’t “take hold of” it. (Let no man think he will “take hold of” anything.) The tree full of golden apples is still there, we just can’t reach if we’re in a state of doubt.

God wanted me 100% dependent on HIM and not on any funding source. It was a test to see if that was truly where my trust was. Heb 11:1 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

I had to walk DAILY trusting Him. Nothing was done in a “routine” way during this season. He brought provision from the north, south, east and west but He taught me to INQUIRE OF HIM DAILY to be positioned for it. He reminded me, “Mary, you hear My voice. And I know how to speak to you so you will be sure to hear. Do not fear that you are missing My voice. As long as your eyes are heavenward and your heart seeks only to hear from Me, you will.” David “inquired of the Lord” daily, even when a familiar situation presented itself. He never assumed that because God did it one way one day, He would do it the same the next time. In EVERY case in Scripture that David inquired of the Lord, God answered. If David was unsure or needed confirmation, he asked and God gave it.

In March 2010 I kept having a vision of numbers rolling back, like on the Wal-Mart commercials. God told me there was about to be a “REVERSAL OF MISFORTUNE.”

On Friday, July 16th, a friend of mine called me to tell me that someone had invited her to apply for a job opportunity with a local non-profit organization. But she had prayed and felt it was for me! She was notifying the people that called her to tell them about me. She would send me their contact information so I could send my resume.

On the evening of  July 16th the Lord told me to look up “seventh month/seventeenth day” in Scripture. So I searched in my PC Study Bible and found this:

Gen 8:1-14, selected:  Now the springs of the deep and the floodgates of the heavens had been closed, and the rain had stopped falling from the sky. The water receded steadily from the earth. At the end of the hundred and fifty days the water had gone down, and on the seventeenth day of the seventh month the ark came to rest on the mountains of Ararat. The waters continued to recede until the tenth month, and on the first day of the tenth month the tops of the mountains became visible. By the twenty-seventh day of the second month the earth was completely dry.

On the morning of July 17th, I wrote this in my journal:

“Consecrating the next several days… there is much at stake. Life as I have known it for most of my days is about to change in more ways than one… all for the good even though it might not feel good as I transition to the other side through this narrow gate. While it will be a new season of rest from many areas of “unrest” I’ve been in for many years, there will still be a whole new set of hurdles on the other side. Time to prepare.”

On Sunday evening, July 18th I sent my resume via email for the job that my friend told me about.  By 8:30am on Monday I had a response that they wanted to interview me! (first interview in 18 months… and this job found me. Hmmmm, I was again reminded of God’s word to me that he would bring each new assignment in His time.)

I interviewed with them that week and they offered me the job at the end of the interview! The Director told me he already knew he was going to hire me the minute he read my resume! He and I both agree it is a “God thing” that I am taking this job at this time. It’s a job with an organization called ATLANTA OUTREACH PROJECT.  http://www.atloutreach.org/home.htm  I’ll be doing case management to place chronically homeless people in permanent housing, as well as supervising another case manager and participating in PR with other organizations in Atlanta that all work together for this common cause of stomping out homelessness. I start Aug 2nd. The pay, benefits, duties, and details of this job are amazing and PERFECT for me! Salary, commissions, paid vacation, paid holidays, company phone, gas allowance and I virtually work from home! AND… it is my JOB to love on people and help restore their lives! WOW! I didn’t find this job, God brought it right to me! After 18 months of unemployment (and a multitude of stories of supernatural provision to go with it), God has shown up and shown out!

So now the test… DO NOT BECOME DEPENDENT ON THE JOB OR PAYCHECK.  I must see it only as a blessing from the Lord, and not as my source. Thank you Jesus, for teaching me more about YOU during this season. That’s really what it’s all about… knowing Him more!

The season of unemployment has “come to rest” and the flood waters of lack are receding from my life. I know in my Spirit this is just the beginning. Much more is about to unfold in my life…. So I’ll end this post with this:

….to be continued. (woot!) ~ (and don’t forget you can click the SHOW SOME LOVE button in the right sidebar to get automatic updates on future posts via email!)

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org

7 Responses to Don’t give up! There’s Purpose in this Season You’re In…

  1. Jimmy Parker says:

    Amazing story and testimony Mary!! Very encouraging! Thanks for your leadership–exercising discipline and obedience in the midst of so much uncertainty–for these are the things that make very sweet fruit indeed!

  2. Joyce Soares says:

    What a wonderful testimony Mary!! You certainly are an encouragement to all of us and you will have much to bless your clients with. Thanks for sharing this with all of us.

  3. beautifulbola says:

    ooh my, you are about to make me cry!!! Thank for the testimony. If I could only tell you: so many people are going through what you have been through. Some have killed themselves, because of their misfortune. Others well, going day by day.. I have so much I can say, but in the end all I can say is oooooooooh (a sound of gratefulness that only the holy spirit can interpret). Be blessed and continue to stay faithful and focus!!

  4. Stephanie says:

    What a true blessing this post is to me! Thank you for sharing and congrats on the new door has opened for you!

  5. The Lord is good. What a blessing. Thank you for sharing. I will pass on to others.

  6. Charles says:

    Mary, thanks for sharing your terrific testimony….you are so right in recognizing that the Lord wanted you to be totally dependent upon Him and not the blessing…I read something from Sarah Young earlier today and she talked about the comfort of knowing that even during those times when it is ‘dark’ and we cannot see Jesus at work in our lives, when we cling to the Lord wondering why, He’s there holding us closely whether our fingers are tightly grasping Him or not. And your walk of faith has not just strengthened you, but prepared you for greater Kingdom work….be blessed….C

  7. darci Perry says:

    Mary, what an awesome testimony. God can do ANY THING!!! I am going to send you the miracle of my grandson being delivered from an imposed diagnosis of Paranoid Schizophrenic.

Leave a Reply

