Do You Have A Problem???

WHAT PROBLEM COULD I POSSIBLY HAVE, you ask?

THE SAME PROBLEM that EVERYONE on this EARTH has (or had). And the even greater problem is that many people have the problem and don’t even know it’s a problem! There is something MISSING in all of us when we are born. But many people have no idea anything is missing. Yet others have reached the point of knowing that somehow, someway, their life is incomplete….there is a missing piece. AND IT’S THE MOST IMPORTANT PIECE OF ALL!

So what is it?  Let’s start with the problem and then I’ll give you the solution.
THE PROBLEM

1. Man (mankind) has a natural desire to GO HIS OWN WAY and to ignore God’s principles for living.

Because Adam & Eve sinned in the Garden of Eden, we are all born into a state of sin by default. This “sin nature” causes us to live selfishly.

2. Because of our “sin nature” we believe the LIES of our enemy just like Adam & Eve did.

“Look out for #1.  Do your own thing.”

“If it feels good, do it – regardless of what God says about it.”

“It’s my life and I’ll do what I please!”

3. Because of our “sin nature” we have a BROKEN relationship with God.

“All of us, like sheep, have gone astray, and each of us has turned to his own way.” Isaiah 53:6

“If we say that we never sin, we are only fooling ourselves, and refuse to accept the truth.” I John 1:8

“The trouble is that your sins have cut you off from God.”    Isaiah 59:2(LB)

“All have sinned and fall short of God’s glorious ideal.”   Romans 3:23

4. When our relationship to God is not right, it causes PROBLEMS in every area of our lives.

Marriage / Relationships

Career / Finances

Eternal Destination: MOST IMPORTANTLY: If we are separated from God, we cannot go to Heaven when we die. Therefore we need a way to be restored back to God.

5. When people have problems, they often try many different ways of COPING before turning to God.

“There are ways that SEEM right to man, but they only end in death.”  Proverbs 16:25

Worry / Anxiety / Fear

Drugs/Alcohol

Sexual Promiscuity

Spending Money / Acquiring Possessions

Just trying to live a “good and honest” life

WHAT’S THE SOLUTION?

1. Good News! JESUS has already taken care of your sin problem!

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 6:23

“I AM THE WAY, the Truth, and the Life.  No one comes to the Father, except THROUGH ME!”  John 14:6

“God is on one side and all people are on the other side, and Christ Jesus is between them to bring them together, by giving His life for all mankind.”  1 Timothy 2:5 (LB)

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8  

2. GOSPEL means “Good News!” Jesus is the way back to God! That’s the Good News! 

The Way is a Person! God Himself came to earth as a human being to bring us back to Himself.  If any other way would have worked, Jesus Christ would not have had to come.    God did this for us because He loves us and wants us to know Him. 

3. It’s up to YOU to receive and accept this free gift! God has already done His part to restore our relationship to Him.  He took the initiative.  Now He waits for each of us to individually accept what He has done for us by receiving this salvation and accepting Jesus as our Lord and Savior.

4. Even when we realize that our deepest need is GOD, we often try wrong ways of getting to know Him:

“My grandmother/mother was a Christian so…”

“It doesn’t matter what you believe, just be sincere…”

“I’ll just give up all my bad habits…”

“I’ll work real hard and earn it…”

“I’ll be religious and go to church, then I’ll be okay…”

5. SALVATION is the only way!

The GOOD NEWS is that our relationship to God CANNOT be restored by anything we do, but only on the basis of what Jesus already did for us!

 

SO HOW DO I RECEIVE SALVATION?

1. CONFESS that God has not had first place in your life and ASK Him to forgive your sins.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”    1 John 1:9

2. BELIEVE in your heart that Jesus died on the cross to pay for your sins and that He rose from the grave and is alive today.

“That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”   Romans 10:9

“Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.”  Acts 4:12

3. INVITE Jesus Christ to be the SAVIOR of your soul and the LORD (director) of your life.

“To all who receive Him, He gives the right to become children of God.  All we need to do is to trust Him to save us.  All those who believe this are reborn!… not a physical rebirth… but from the will of God!”  John 1:12-13

“Jesus says, ‘Listen! I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in…. ’” Revelations 3:30

4. ACCEPT God’s free gift of salvation!  You cannot EARN it!

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith– and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–not by works, so that no one can boast.”  Ephesians 2:8-9

 To accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior, here is a sample prayer… just pray it and mean it in your heart:

Lord, I admit that I am a sinner. I invite You to come into my heart and into my life and change me. I believe that You are the Son of God and you died for my sins. I repent and ask forgiveness. I want to be reunited with my Heavenly Father and live my life according to the plan You had for me when You knit me together in my mother’s womb. I believe I was created by You for a purpose and I want to spend the rest of my days living that purpose. I commit myself to You now and surrender my life to You. Please forgive all of my sins and cleanse me from my past. In Jesus Name, AMEN.

If you just prayed that prayer and meant it, you are now a Child of God and have been redeemed from your sinful nature! You now have the power of God inside of you to overcome your past. He heals our lives from the inside out! Get yourself an easy to read version of the Bible and start with the book of John. You will begin to learn about who God is and build a relationship with Him.

It is important that you get plugged in to a life-giving church and build Christian relationships – you have to nurture and cultivate the Seed of God that has been planted inside of you. God’s pure and Holy Spirit now lives inside of you and the goal is to learn to recognize the Holy Spirit and let Him lead and guide you.  (If you need help finding a life-giving church in your area, please let me know and I will try to help locate one for you. Just because the sign says “CHURCH” doesn’t always mean its producing life-change in people.)

God is real and he wants to have a personal relationship with you. It’s not about rules and regulations, it’s about taking time daily to sit quietly and talk to God. Be sure to take time to listen too. Soon you will begin to sense that still, small voice putting impressions on your heart and mind. He loves you so much that He sent His Son do die so He could have this relationship with you!

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org

2 Responses to Do You Have A Problem???

  1. Danni says:

    GREAT POST, MARY! I am a sucker for when people break it down so everyone can understand. You’ve managed to talk about the core of our very being, but do it in such a way that everyone reading it can walk away saying, “Yea, I get what she means.” I enjoy reading your posts so much! Love ya, sis!

  2. Pingback: Ode to my friend Beverly Tabor… « Live~Learn~Teach~Repeat…

Leave a Reply

