Are You Tuned In? Or Are You Missing Opportunities?

For me, January started off with a BANG! I’m taking five classes at Beulah Heights University, volunteering heavily with my church (http://www.Hope-Church.tv – which is my passion!) and still looking for a job (I’ll figure out how to manage a job with all this when I actually get one… lol. Meanwhile I just keep looking for one as if I have all the time in the world…lol.)

But I’m finding that this *crazy* *busy,* but *VERY FULFILLING* schedule leaves me in a constant state of *rush.* So I’ve been praying… “Lord, help me to move fast enough to get everything done that I must do, but help me to move slow enough that I’m paying attention to you along the way.”  This is resulting in some exciting *divine appointments* and *Holy Ghost set-ups* that could easily have slipped right by me. I want to share two of these with you:

1) I was at Wal-Mart the other day just to get a few things. As with most establishments today, there are less and less workers so the lines were LONG. (Even the 20 items or less lines were long!) So while waiting in line, I was trying to take captive the complaining thoughts in my mind. (The cashier decided to close this register after he served the person behind me, so we had to keep telling people it was closed…which was not going over well.  THEN… a manager came to count money in our cashier’s drawer and we all had to wait about 10 minutes…. I admit I was thinking “If he’s closing in 5 minutes, why don’t you just wait and count it then instead of making people wait??? “I” have a lot to do! “I” don’t have time to waste! Grrrrrrr…..)

As I’m standing there in the midst of my “me, me, me” attitude, the Lord says “Philippians 4:6-7” What??  (maybe it was for me since I was was having a bad attitude??…lol)  But I looked around and God revealed it was for the woman behind me. My first thought was “Well I don’t even know if she’s a Christian or not, so I’m not going to tell her that.” (This was a very stupid thought, actually rooted in “me, me, me” because truth be told it was a natural excuse to say “I don’t want to embarrass myself by saying this to her.” If I knew she was a Christian it would be easier, but God could use an opportunity like this to make Himself real to an unbeliever! DUH! <grin>)

So as I conversed with her, (as is usually the case with me) within no time we were talking about God. I then boldly told her that I believed God wanted me to tell her Phil 4:6-7. She said “What does it say?” So I told her: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

The woman almost starts crying!  Her son just left for Iraq the day before and she has been stressed and worried! You could see peace pour over her like a blanket when she knew that the Lord had sent that word to comfort her! She asked me if I could please write it down for her, so I did. She said she usually goes to a different Wal-Mart nearer her home, but she passed by this one on her way from somewhere else… she knew God divinely placed her in that line and divinely caused the delay so He could comfort her! Her name is Barbara and her son is Stanley. Please be in prayer for them with me! I offered to pray for her and also gave her my number if she ever needed someone to pray with. (by the way, I keep a notepad in my pocketbook so I can write names down at times like this… it helps me to remember to keep praying!)

2) The second situation happened the next day. I was entering information into our church database from our Membership class the night before, when I noticed a prayer request that had been typed in a week earlier. Of course we had prayed and sent this list out to our intercessors right after receiving the request, but I was stumbling on it after the fact. This woman’s sister has stage 4 cancer and is single with 3 small children. She was asking for prayer. I stopped and prayed and then continued on with my data entry, when suddenly the Lord told me to call her. Again… JUST BEING REAL… I said to myself  “What? Was that me thinking that or God? God knows how swamped I am, I don’t have time to stop and call.” But I felt the conviction of God, so I thought “Well, maybe I’ll send an email… that will be quicker.”…lol. I looked and SHE DIDN’T HAVE AN EMAIL ADDRESS ON FILE! So finally I obeyed and picked up the phone and called.

Doris answered the phone. She had just walked in from visiting her sister. She was blown away and couldn’t believe I called because that morning she wished she had met someone at her new church (Hope Church! ♥) to go with her and pray…. but she felt like she didn’t know anyone well enough yet. So I offered to go with her and we’re going on Monday… she is so amazed by my call. She didn’t recognize the number and usually doesn’t answer when she doesn’t know it, but she said “something told her to answer“…lol

I’m sharing all this today in hopes that we all might PRAY FOR OPPORTUNITIES in the midst of our busy days to make a difference in someone’s life through the leading of the Holy Spirit. I wonder how many opportunities I’ve missed because I wasn’t intentional about paying attention to the Spirit, but instead absorbed in my self-focused schedule and list of “to-do’s” that seem to always need to be done.

And most importantly, once we hear the directive of the Spirit, I pray that we will obey and not let the moment slip by. I admit, in both situations, I almost missed it. I almost said “I’m not doing that! Surely that wasn’t the Lord.” JUST DO IT!  Even it if it wasn’t God leading you specifically, you will have encouraged someone in the Lord. You have nothing to lose and EVERYTHING to gain!

BLESSINGS TO ALL… may my testimony cause you to “tune in” and intentionally listen for those divine opportunities TODAY and EVERY DAY, and may you have the supernatural power to obey when you hear!

Heb 3:15  “But now is the time. Never forget the warning, “Today if you hear God’s voice speaking to you, do not harden your hearts against him…”

John 10:27  “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.”

Matt 10:14-15If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town.”

James 4:13-17 “Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit”; whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.” But now you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil.  Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.”

James 1:22 “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.”

Matt 22:39  “Love your neighbor as yourself….”

Ps 107:20 “He sent His word and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions.”

Ps 33:4 “For the word of the LORD is right, and all His work is done in truth.”

Ps 147:15  “He sends out His command to the earth; His word runs very swiftly.”

Prov 12:25  “An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up.” 

Prov 25:11  “A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver.”

Prov 30:5  “Every word of God is pure; He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him.”

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org http://www.thehubatlanta.org http://www.atlantaoutreach.org

3 Responses to Are You Tuned In? Or Are You Missing Opportunities?

  1. Aziza says:

    Mary,

    I absolutely love this blog post. praise God for your obedience!

  2. Pingback: Don’t Look a Gift Horse in the Mouth…. « Live~Learn~Teach~Repeat…

  3. Pingback: Gift of Mercy « Living in the Light of God

Leave a Reply

