He is indeed…A 90 Degree, Zigzag, Multi-Tasking God of “Suddenly!

zig zag signIsa 55:9-13 (NIV) “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. Instead of the thorn bush will grow the pine tree, and instead of briers the myrtle will grow. This will be for the LORD’s renown, for an everlasting sign, which will not be destroyed.”

90 DEGREES:  the angle created by two lines perpendicular to each other

ZIGZAG: one of a series of short sharp turns, angles, or alterations in a course

MULTI-TASKING: the performance of multiple tasks at one time

SUDDENLY: happening or coming unexpectedly Well, I have recently been pondering on some promises that God has made to me. Some have come to pass, some have not. For those that have not, I’ll admit that sometimes I wonder if I heard Him right at all. Did I just “think” I heard God about this or that? If it was God, then why hasn’t it manifested yet? But then I began to reflect on the promises that DID come to pass. And I was reminded that not one of them ever came to pass in the way that I expected. I not only see this to be true in my life, but in the lives of others as well.

1. EVERY TURN IN YOUR JOURNEY HAPPENS _____ON PURPOSE________.

We hear scriptures like Prov 3:6 “In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” And we envision a straight path from here to there… from point A to point B. NIV translation even says “He will make your paths straight”…

But the Hebrew word for straight is YASHAR and means: to be the right path; level, upright, just, lawful, smooth. It never says the path will be without turns. And if you think about it…God rarely takes us on a route without twists and turns. For it is in the twists and turns that the WORD that He sent is accomplished… in a 90 degree, zigzag, sort of way!

TAKE THE ISRAELITES FOR EXAMPLE: Ex 13:17 When Pharaoh let the people go, God did not lead them on the road through the Philistine country, though that was shorter.

AND HE WAS FAITHFUL TO STAY WITH THEM AND LEAD THEM: Ex 13:21-22 And the LORD went before them by day in a pillar of cloud to lead the way, and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so as to go by day and night. 22 He did not take away the pillar of cloud by day or the pillar of fire by night from before the people.

JESUS HIMSELF TOOK A 90 DEGREE TURN: FROM BEING BAPTIZED & FILLED WITH THE SPIRIT… AND IMMEDIATLY INTO WILDERNESS! Mark 1:12-13 Immediately the Spirit drove Him into the wilderness. 13 And He was there in the wilderness forty days, tempted by Satan, and was with the wild beasts; and the angels ministered to Him. I have also learned that God doesn’t seem do anything or allow anything for just one reason. If you look at the circumstances in your life, you will recognize that He has carefully orchestrated them to fulfill many purposes at one time.

2. EVERY TURN IN YOUR JOURNEY ____HAS PURPOSE________.

THERE WAS PURPOSE FOR THE ISRAELITES WILDERNESS: Ex 13:18 For God said, “If they face war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.” 18 So God led the people around by the desert road toward the Red Sea. The Israelites went up out of Egypt armed for battle. AND….Ex 14:13-14 13 Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. 14 The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

AND THERE WAS PURPOSE EVEN FOR JESUS: Luke 4:14 Jesus returned to Galilee in the power of the Spirit, and news about him spread through the whole countryside.

AND THERE IS PURPOSE FOR YOUR WILDERNESS: For example… You know that God does not desire for you to lack… He says so in His word. So you pray for financial increase, but after praying a long time, you get laid off your job. “BUT GOD!” you say! “I was believing you for INCREASE! What happened??!” So you go to the unemployment office and are forced to wait in long lines. While in line you witness to someone and they accept Christ! Several months later you are finally offered a new position that pays almost DOUBLE what your last job paid! WOW! Then you realize that God was in this all along and while things went in a 90 degree, zigzag sort of way after you prayed…He used this opportunity to MULTI-TASK and accomplish MANY things in a SUDDENLY sort of way:

1. He suddenly positioned you in that unemployment office to be a witness and bring a soul into the Kingdom of God

2. And he was setting you up to test your faith/stretch you to trust Him more than ever before…as months went by before the new job came along

3. He answered your original prayer! SUDDENLY… when it looked impossible…Out of the Blue…HE BROUGHT YOU THE FINANCIAL INCREASE!

4. There were also many people in your life that witnessed YOU trusting God in the midst of your trial… they also learned to trust God more by watching your example!!!!

GOD USES OUR LIVES TO WITNESS TO OTHERS SO THEY WILL KNOW GOD Ex 14:4 And I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and he will pursue them. But I will gain glory for myself through Pharaoh and all his army, and the Egyptians will know that I am the LORD.” So the Israelites did this.

5. And just like everyone thought Job’s reward was getting “double for his trouble,” Job’s real reward was this: (and so is ours) Job 42:5 “My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you.”…As a result of your 90 degree, zigzag adventure that ended SUDDENLY, you now have SEEN God in a WHOLE NEW WAY! You once had HEARD of Him, but now you have personally SEEN Him be your provider… protector… sustainer… deliverer… COME ON SOMEBODY!!!!!!

So as I look back at the many situations where God gave me direction on something specific or gave me a promise, almost every single time, things went in the OPPOSITE direction before they reached the destination. But our responsibility is simply to OBEY and REMAIN FAITHFUL & OBEDIENT no matter how the situation may look. If He says turn… then turn! Even if it doesn’t make sense! (especially when you probably just got comfortable since the last turn and now thought for sure you had God’s plan figured out….but suddenly… TURN!!!!)

Mary, Jesus’ mother said: “Whatever He says to you, do it.” John 2:5

I have been in this situation in a few areas of my life for while now. Some things that God had previously spoken to me seem to have gone completely in the opposite direction! But I KNOW MY GOD! And just like the example I gave…. I am CONFIDENT that God is going to come through in His perfect way and at the perfect time. In the meanwhile, He is doing many other things along the way….

1. S-T-R-E-T-C-H-I-N-G me!!!!!!!!!!

2. CAUSING ME TO BELIEVE AND TRUST even when there is no evidence to rely on

3. He is BLESSING OTHERS (who are affected by my situation and are indirectly reaping benefits from the fact that my promise is delayed)

4. He is PREPARING me for the fulfillment of the promises (b/c truth be told I’m probably NOT YET READY to receive these promises and MAINTAIN them once they come to pass)

5. He’s TESTING me to see: DO I REALLY TRUST HIM? and CAN HE REALLY TRUST ME?

6. He’s TESTING MY OBEDIENCE to see if I care more about what HE THINKS or about what OTHERS THINK (but Lord you said to go this way…. “Yes, Mary, but now I’m saying go THAT way!” (zigzag…90 degree turns, SUDDENLY! this way and that)….DO YOU TRUST ME??? (but what will people think???!!!) WHO CARES! FOLLOW ME!!!!!!!

PEOPLE MAY THINK YOU HAVE TOTALLY MISSED GOD! Ex 14:3 The Lord said to Moses….3 Pharaoh will think, ‘The Israelites are wandering around the land in confusion, hemmed in by the desert.’ God truly is amazing how he does SOOO many things at one time! And how as you are thinking you are walking the exact direction toward the promise… SUDDENLY He turns you 90 degrees…. then a little while later He… SUDDENLY turns you 90 degrees yet ANOTHER way! And after many twists and turns, when you begin to question whether or not you REALLY even heard Him in the first place…

At every turn there are things to be ___LEARNED___. (new tasks, ideas, skills, God’s true character, perseverance, endurance, patience)

At every turn there are things to be ___UNLEARNED___. (wrong thought processes, wrong beliefs, etc.)

At every turn there is something you need to ___GAIN___.  (first-hand experience, wisdom, confidence, authority, etc.)

At every turn there is something you need to ___LOSE___.  (unhealthy relationships, bad habits, etc.)

Since this seems to be the way God deals with me OVER and OVER and OVER again, why do I continue to hear Him speak and expect that He’ll fulfill His promise by leading me quickly along one straight line to its completion & fulfillment????!!! Hopefully one day, I’ll FULLY catch on! So I am determination to TRUST GOD as I walk this 90 degree, zigzag road of SUDDEN twists and turns that He continues to lead me down as He does a multi-faceted inner work within me.

3. EVERY TURN IN YOUR JOURNEY IS ONE STEP CLOSER TO __YOUR PROMISE___.

Isa 55:9-12 THE MESSAGE BIBLE “For as the sky soars high above earth, so the way I work surpasses the way you work, and the way I think is beyond the way you think. … the words that come out of my mouth will not come back empty-handed. They’ll do the work I sent them to do, they’ll complete the assignment I gave them. So you’ll go out in joy, you’ll be led into a whole and complete life.

I am FULLY persuaded that God has the power to do what He promised! He who called me is faithful & He WILL do it! (Rom 4:21, 1 Thess 5:24)

O dry bones hear the word of the LORD! Thus says the Lord GOD… Surely I will cause breath to enter into you & you shall live! Ezek 37:4-5

And suddenly a rattling; and the bones came together, bone to bone… and breath came into them, and they lived… Ezek 37:7,10

I will put My Spirit in you & you shall live…Then you shall know that I the LORD have spoken it & performed it says the Lord! Ezek 37:14

So next time you find yourself on the backside of the desert facing in completely the OPPOSITE direction of your promises… remember this:

Phil 1:6 For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.

About Mary L'Esperance Held
http://www.maryloveslife.org

Leave a Reply

