The Octopus and Me

An octopus has eight arms, or so I’m told.  I think they’re called tentacles.

I imagine they operate independently of each other, or else why would there be eight?

God must know why there are eight. After all, He created the octopus this way.

 

I wonder if an octopus finds enough to do to keep each tentacle busy?

Like the octopus, God created me. He gave me the gift of multi-tasking.

Sometimes I imagine how an octopus might feel.

Or perhaps a juggler who is able to keep eight balls rotating in the air without one of them hitting the ground.

 

I used to revel in it.

The accolades, that is.

The accolades for being able to do so many things at one time, and do them all so well.

It drove me to do more… to perform to gain acceptance and a sense of value.

Then the Lord so graciously disciplined me, until I learned I am a human being, not a human doing.

From a place of being, and a place of rest in Him, would my doing come.

Only from His strength would no ball be dropped.

Only from His strength would there be grace to know how many balls to juggle at one time.

 

 

Yet there are days when not all my “arms” are busy and I actually feel frustrated or bored.

And there are days when they are all so busy, I’m not sure how much longer I can go on.

 

I struggle to balance this gift I’ve been given.

I wonder if the octopus ever feels the same?

 

The End.

 

If you are tired from carrying heavy burdens, come to me and I will give you rest. Take the yoke I give you. Put it on your shoulders and learn from me. I am gentle and humble, and you will find rest. This yoke is easy to bear, and this burden is light.  Matt 11:28-30 (CEV)

 

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NIV)

About MaryLovesLife
http://www.maryloveslife.org

One Response to The Octopus and Me

  1. Charles says:

    Mary, good stuff! Keep on sharing what God gives to you….C

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 744 other followers

